Alfus Healthcare Advocacy Certificate

The Alfus Healthcare Advocacy Online Certificate Program


The University of Miami's Alfus Healthcare Advocacy Certificate (AHAC) is the only completely online program of its kind in the US, taught by highly qualified professionals in the field.Healthcare Advocacy is an emerging and exciting career. Healthcare advocates (HAs) help patients receive the best healthcare possible by helping patients and their families navigate a healthcare system that is both complex and daunting. And the new healthcare legislation is further complicating access to healthcare and insurance coverage. HAs help patients and their families understand diagnoses, prognoses and outcomes, as well as available treatment options. They identify resources and help patients and their families decode insurance coverage.

The AHAC Program from the University of Miami provides a rigorous academic and personal experience that will qualify graduates for a career in the fast-growing field of healthcare advocacy.

Health Care Advocacy

The University of Miami's Healthcare Advocacy Program, will be the career move that yields not just professional growth and security, but personal satisfaction as well.

Program Price: $4,995 (Total tuition charges for the 8 course program)

Enrollment Requirements

The University of Miami (UM) Alfus Healthcare Advocacy Certificate (AHAC) requires its students to:

  1. A current resume
  2. An unofficial transcript of their experience in the healthcare field
  3. An essay (500 words or less) succintly explaining why you believe you should be admitted to the UM AHAP program
  4. Two professional references

Topic Focus Areas

In addition to our certificiate program, we offer 3 dynamic topic focus areas in Health Advocacy.  These courses may be taken separately with no pre-requisite and cost $599 each.

Cancellation Policy for Program:

Cancellation requests received more than 3 days prior to program start date………100% Refund
Cancellation requests received within 3 days (72 hours) of program start date……   75% Refund
Cancellation requests received on or after program start date………………………   No Refund

The University reserves the right to cancel or reschedule any program with insufficient enrollment or for reasons beyond our control. In any such cases, a full refund of fees and deposits will be made. Before a refund can be issued, verification of your payment, confirmation of the pertaining records and administrative review and approval must be completed. While we will expedite your refund request, please allow a minimum of 45 days for processing.

This program is offered through the Office of Professional Advancement.

Monday, April, 6 2015 - Friday, September, 18 2015

8 Courses

Some courses have finished and are not listed.
Monday, April 06, 2015 - Friday, May 01, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, May 04, 2015 - Friday, May 29, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, June 01, 2015 - Friday, June 26, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Health Law 206-18
Tuesday, July 07, 2015 - Friday, July 24, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, July 27, 2015 - Monday, August 17, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, August 24, 2015 - Friday, September 18, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
View package courses
This package has started.

Monday, September, 14 2015 - Friday, April, 22 2016

8 Courses

Monday, September 14, 2015 - Friday, September 25, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, September 28, 2015 - Friday, October 23, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, October 26, 2015 - Friday, November 20, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, November 23, 2015 - Friday, December 18, 2015
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, January 04, 2016 - Friday, January 29, 2016
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Health Law 206-19
Monday, February 01, 2016 - Friday, February 26, 2016
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, February 29, 2016 - Friday, March 25, 2016
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
Monday, March 28, 2016 - Friday, April 22, 2016
Flexible Flexible
Location: ONL
View package courses
Total Price: $4995.00 Payment plan available »

Enroll Now