Women Leaders Symposium

Pan American Academy
For Advancing Executive Women Leaders in Academia

Academy Chair

Ingrid Vasiliu-Feltes, MD, MBA,
Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, Chief of Clinical Compliance , Director Clinical Trials Programs,
President Executive Cortex Consulting, LLC, President Sports for Healthy Kids, Inc.

Academy Co-Chair

Rebecca MacMillan Fox, Ph.D.,
Chief of Staff for University of Miami President Donna E. Shalala
Dean of the Division of Continuing and International Education


  • Eugene Anderson, Dean Business School, UM
  • Pascal Goldschmidt, Dean Medical School, UM
  • Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD, Chair Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Director Center of Aging
  • Elaine Van Der Put, PhD, MSPH, Chief Strategy Officer, UM
  • Maria Currier, JD, Partner in Business Law Section , Holland and Knight Law Firm
  • Aldo Defilippi, Executive Director, Association of American Chambers of Commerce in Latin America
  • Maria Lamas Shojaee, MBA, Director Special Projects, Trustee, UM
  • Liane Ventura Guerra, Senior Vice President, Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce, International Business Development & Leadership Programs, Executive Director, Greater Miami Foreign Trade Zone
  • Donna Arbide, UM Alumni Office


  • Pedro Ruiz, MD, President, WPA, Vice-Chair of Clinical Psychiatry, University of Miami
  • Sheri Keitz, MD, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, Associate Vice President for Human Resources
  • Linda Neider , Ph.D. , Professor, Department of Management , School of Business Administration
  • Sylvia Gaviria, MD, Chief Department of Psychiatry, CES University, Medellin, Columbia
  • Sherri L. Porcelain, Senior Lecturer, Global Public Health, Department of International Studies & Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Miami
  • Patricia Abril, JD, Associate Professor of Business Law


  • Nilda P. Peragallo Montano, Dean of the School of Nursing and Health Studies
  • Patricia D. White, Dean and Professor of Law, UM
  • Katy Sorenson, President & CEO, Good Government Initiative
  • Celeste Schenk, President American University in Paris
  • Ana Viamonte-Ros, MD, MPH, Director Medical Staff Development, Baptist Health International
  • Penny Schaffer, Market President, BCBS
  • Marta Rondon, MD, President IAWMH
  • Frances Sevilla-Sacasa, CEO, Itau PrivateBank International
  • Gabriela Cora, MD, MBA, Executive Health & Wealth Institute


  • Judith Schaechter, MD, MBA, Interim Chair Dept. of Pediatrics, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Adolescent Medicine
  • Sylvia Daunert, Ph.D., Pharm.D., M.S, Professor and Lucille P. Markey Chair, Associate Director, JT Macdonald Biomedical Nanotechnology Institute, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, UM
  • Anita Cava, JD, Director, Business Ethics Program, Co-Director, Ethics Programs, Professor, Business Law
  • Ana Campo, MD, Associate Dean for Student Affairs
  • Hilit Mechaber, MD, FACP, Associate Dean for Student Services
  • María-Teresa Lepeley, President, Global Institute for Quality Education, USA -Chile América Latina
  • Aymee Valdivia, JD, Holland and Knight
  • Onelia Lage, MD, Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Director of Adolescent Medical  Education and Community Health Florida Board of Medicine Member and Past Chair
  • Merce Jorda, MD,Ph.D, MBA, Professor of Clinical Pathology, Medical Director CLS
  • Zena Leah Harris, MD, Division Director, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, Department of Pediatrics
    Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, Illinois, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Critical Care Medicine
  • Sandra Upegui, Esq., Assistant General Counsel
  • Tere Blanca, CEO, Blanca Commercial Real Estate
  • Auza Yolanda, CEO, Unisys


  • Jared Abramson, MBA, ViceChair of Administration, Department of Psychiatry
  • Edison Sabala, MBA, MPH, Director Research Education
  • Magaly Abreu, Finance Director, International Education
  • David Lecon, Director Executive Education Programs, UM Business School
  • Nanette Vega, Director of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
  • Erica Arroyo, Senior Director, Alumni Programs, Office of Alumni Relations
  • Shawn Rosen-Holtzman, Operations Manager, Baptist Health
  • Desiree Young, M.P.A., Executive Director, Office of Professional Advancement- DCIE